Republic Day (India)

19 / 100

Republic Day (Republic Day) is a national festival of India which is celebrated on 26 January every year. The Constitution of India was implemented on the same day in 1950 by removing the Government of India Act (Act) (1935). The Constitution was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 26 November 1949 to become an independent republic and to establish the rule of law in the country and was implemented with a democratic government system on 26 January 1950. 26 January was chosen because it was on this day in 1930 that the Indian National Congress (INC) declared India as Swaraj. It is one of the three national holidays of India, the other two being Independence Day and Gandhi Jayanti.



In December 1929, the session of the Indian National Congress was held in Lahore under the chairmanship of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, passing a resolution declaring that if the British Government would not grant India the post of autonomous investment (Dominion) by 26 January 1930, Under that day India became a self-governing unit in the British Empire and on that day announced the determination of complete independence of India and started its active movement.

From that day until the attainment of independence in 1947, 26 January was celebrated as Independence Day. After this, 15 August was accepted as the Independence Day of India, the actual day of independence. After India became independent, the Constituent Assembly was announced and started its work from 9 December 1947.

Members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the elected members of the assemblies of the states of India. Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar, Jawaharlal Nehru, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad etc. were prominent members of this gathering. There were a total of 22 committees in constitution making, of which the drafting committee was the most prominent and important committee and the task of this committee was to ‘write the constitution’ or ‘construct’ the whole.

Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar, the legislator was the chairman of the drafting committee. The drafting committee and in particular Dr. Ambedkar ji formulated the Constitution of India in 2 years, 11 months, 18 days, and Dr. Rajendra Prasad, President of Constituent Assembly, completed the Constitution of India on 26 November 1949, hence 26 November The day is celebrated every year as Constitution Day in India. The Constituent Assembly held a total of 114 days at the time of framing the Constitution.

The press and public were free to participate in its meetings. After several reforms and changes, 308 members of the assembly signed two handwritten copies of the constitution on 24 January 1950. Two days after this, the Constitution came into force nationwide on 26 January. In order to maintain the importance of 26 January, on the same day, the Constitution approved by the Constituent Assembly (Constituent Assembly) recognized the republican form of India.

As you all know that on 15 August 1947, after the sacrifice of thousands of patriots, our country was freed from the slavery of the British (British rule). After this, on 26 January 1950 Indian Session and Law and Order came into force in our country. Brothers and sisters had lost the lap of thousands of mothers of their country to get this freedom, the vermilion of the demands of thousands of sisters and daughters had disappeared, then the country could become independent after this great sacrifice.

Just as there is a constitution of the country, in the same way there is a constitution of God, if we all follow the constitution of God on the constitution of the country, then the society can become crime free and strong.

Also Read : IBPS PO Score Card 2020-21 Out: IBPS PO Score Card 2020-21 released (Direct Link to Download Your Score Card for IBPS PO Prelims Exam

Republic day celebration

The Indian national flag is hoisted by the President of India on Republic Day celebrations on 26 January and the national anthem is sung in a standing ovation after that. The national flag is then saluted to the tricolor. Republic Day is celebrated with great enthusiasm throughout the country, especially in the Indian capital, Delhi.

To mark the significance of the occasion, a grand parade is held every year from India Gate to Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s residence) on the Rajpath in the capital, New Delhi. Various regiments of Indian Army, Air Force, Navy etc. all take part in this grand parade.

Children from all parts of the country come from National Cadet Corps and various schools to participate in this function, it is an honor to participate in the ceremony. Inaugurating the parade, Prime Minister Amar Jawan Jyoti (a memorial for soldiers), who is situated at India Gate at one end of Rajpath, offers a wreath. After this, two minutes of silence are kept in memory of the martyred soldiers.

It is a memorial of the sacrifices of martyrs who sacrificed for the country in the war and independence movement fought to protect the sovereignty of the country. After this, the Prime Minister, along with other persons, comes to the dais at Rajpath, the President later with the Chief Guest of the occasion.

There are also exhibitions of various states in the parade, the exhibition presents a visualization of the people of every state, their folk songs and art. Every exhibition exhibits India’s diversity and cultural richness.

The parade and procession are broadcast on national television and are watched by crores of viewers in every corner of the country. In 2014, on the occasion of India’s 64th Republic Day, the Protocol Department of the Government of Maharashtra organized a parade on Mumbai’s Marine Drive for the first time, as does the Rajpath in New Delhi every year.

Chief Guest of Republic Day Parade

List of the key guests of Indian Republic Day:

YearName of the post and chief guestRelated country
2020Jair Bolsonaro, PresidentSiril Ramaphosa, PresidentBrazil
2019PresidentSiril Ramaphosa, PresidentSouth Africa
2018Heads of all ten ASEAN countriesBrunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam
2017Crown Prince, Mohammed bin Zayed Al NahyanAbu Dhabi
2016President, François Hollande, President, Maithripal SirisenFrance, Sri Lanka
2015President, Barack ObamaUsa
2014Prime Minister, Shinzo AbeJapan
2013King, Jigme Khesar Namgyel WangchukBhutan
2012Prime Minister, Yingluck ChinawatThailand
2011President, Susilo Bambang YudhoyonoIndonesia
2010President, Lee Myung BakRepublic of Korea
2009President, Nursultan NazarbayevKazakhstan
2008President, Nicholas SarkozyFrance
2007President, Vladimir PutinRussia
2006King, Shah AbdullahSaudi arabia king of saudi arabia
2005King, Jigme Singye WangchukBhutan
2004President, Luiz Insio Lula da SilvaBrazil
2003President, Mohammad KhatamiIran
2002President, Kasam UtemMauritius
2001President, Abdelaziz BoutaflikaAlgeria
2000President, Olu Shagun ObsanjoNigeria

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply